Facebook is known to be that marvellous tool that helps people keep in touch with almost everyone, whether old friends, family, or anyone else you care to talk to on Facebook. However, there is always a disadvantage for everything in the world. The digital freedom on Facebook can cost you something that is your privacy. Luckily, there are ways through which you can make sure only the people you want can see your Facebook profile unless, of course, somebody has your credentials.

The procedure involving making your Facebook private is relatively painless once you familiarize yourself with the increasingly inflated user-network. So, for the whole process of how to make Facebook privateyou need to move to the methods given below. Make sure that you follow the steps as it is presented and do not leave any step.

How to make my Facebook private (Profile & Timeline)?

By following the process given below, you will know how to make your Facebook page private without hassles. These methods given below, along with the steps, are relatively simple and easy. So, without any further ado, let’s get into it.

Change Privacy Settings on Facebook

If you want to know how to make Facebook private, the best thing you can do is to change the privacy settings of your Facebook profile, timeline, stories, etc. To do that, follow the step-by-step procedure as mentioned below:

Step 1: Log into your Facebook account 

First of all, start by going to the official Facebook login page by searching it in the browser and hitting the enter button. Now, enter your credentials correctly, and then click on Login. If you have forgotten your Facebook account password, you can click on the ‘forgot password’ option, and Facebook will redirect you to reset your password.

Steps 2: Go to Settings 

Once you are on the News Feed page, select the download pointing arrow in the screen’s top-right corner. From there, click on the Settings button. This will open the screen to see various options related to the Privacy settings, Account, etc.

Step 3: Privacy Tab 

The settings tab will further direct you to a general account settings screen. Now, under the available settings, you need to tap on the Privacy Tab. This should be the 4th option in the column. Once you click the privacy tab, it will then launch a new page on your page’s right-hand side with info and data about your name, username, etc.

Step 4: Your Activity 

After moving to the Privacy tab, scroll down to the ‘Your Activity’ section. Here, it would help if you edited who has or will have access to your account profile. If you would like your profile to be completely private, select the Only me option in the drop-down. If you want to limit profile privacy to only friends, then choose that option instead.

Step 5: Review Settings 

Now, after following all the steps given above, you need to make sure that your Facebook privacy is completely optimized to your liking. Review the privacy settings or option on this page. Reviewing the Timeline and Tagging tab in the left-hand column will allow further privatization of your Facebook page.

How to make Facebook private for Friends List section

You can follow the steps mentioned below to make Facebook private via the Friend’s List section. Make sure you read the instruction carefully:

Step 1: Navigate to Privacy Tab 

First, while still being on your News Feed, click on the arrow button present at the top-right corner of the screen. Then, select the Settings option, and scroll over to the left-hand column. Now, select the Privacy Tab.

Step 2: How people find you and contact you 

Select the Edit button next to the ’Who can see your friends list.’ The general settings are often set to Public.

Step 3: Make your Friends List Private 

If you choose to make your Friends List private, select the only me option under the drop-down menu. If you want to share your Friends list with only your Friends or any specific friends, pick the correct option from the drop-down menu.

By following the above methods, you will know how to make your Facebook page private without temporarily deactivating your Facebook account. You need to make sure that you follow the directions carefully.